Greetings to Bar Harbor

I’m turning my attention to Bar Harbor these days. I think this will be the subject of my next book. The area has always held a fascination for me, both its natural beauty and the out-of-context feeling I get when I’m there. It feels like Maine, but then it doesn’t…After a little reading, I’m thinking that the tension between the townspeople and the summer people will probably be a major theme to my book, if I write this. The History Press is interested, and my husband gave me a stack of old books on the area for Christmas, but I haven’t signed a contract because I can’t quite wrap my head around a new manuscript due date just yet.

This 1890s post card comes from the Maine Memory Network, a great site for searching images from Maine history. Along with a view of the harbor is the Mount Desert Reading Room, now part of the Bar Harbor Inn. It was described by one of my sources as “a masculine hideout.” Here it seems members kept illegal liquor discreetly stored away in individual lockers, and law enforcement official looked the other way. That was the case until “Maine’s prohibition law was differently enforced,” according to Richard Hale, the author of The Story of Bar Harbor.

Temperance, Prohibition, illegal drinking clubs… Maybe another theme is emerging here…Bar Harbor, I think you’ve got me hooked..

(Photo Courtesy of the Maine Memory Network, a Maine Historical Society Website)

About Luann Yetter

Luann Yetter is the author of Bar Habor in the Roaring Twenties, Portland's Past and Remembering Franklin County, all published by the History Press. She is a writing instructor at the University of Maine at Farmington. She has had a life-long interest in social history beginning with a steady diet of Laura Ingalls Wilder books as a little girl in the Midwest. She now lives in an 18th century house in a small town in Maine and loves to "time travel" when she writes.
This entry was posted in Bar Harbor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

